Six Perfections

The Six Perfections

also known as The Six Paramitas

The virtuous conduct & intention of the Bodhisattvas to attain enlightenment for the benefit of all sentient beings

The Six Perfections

The Six Perfections are:



Generosity ~ Citrine

True selfless giving, the wish to give, is a state of mind rather than the act of giving. Giving with pure motivation leads to the perfection of generosity.


Ethics & Morality ~ Lapis

Morality is a standard of behaviour; refraining from harming others and developing an attitude and the motivation to reflect this. Being of benefit to others and recognising their importance is key to giving and practicing morality.


Patience ~ Howlite

Patience is the ability to retain equanimity even in the face of misfortune or harm, the capacity to tolerate problems or suffering.


Enthusiastic Perseverance ~ Aventurine

This virtue is the root of all perfections, developing virtuous conduct motivated by one’s own enthusiasm rather than by some outside force.

Quartz Crystal

Concentration ~ Quartz Crystal

Concentration is the power of focusing the attention; a powerful state of mind that can control mental activity & afflictions. It is also known as Samadhi ~ the highest state of mental concentration.


Wisdom ~ Amethyst

The perfection of prajna, or wisdom, is the fully developed insight into emptiness (shunyata) and dispels the ignorance caused by ego grasping.

The Six Paramitas

May you be filled with loving kindness

May you be filled with loving kindness